5 Stages of Grief (over your Spiderman shirt)

My Spidey shirt is NOT dirty!

Way back in 1969, a really smart, sensitive, shrinky-type doctor, Elisabeth Kubler-Ross came up with 5 stages of grief.  I know this because I learned it in college.  A couple of times.  And somehow it escaped the brain-purge of motherhood.  It came back to me when Pumpkin Pie was getting dressed yesterday.  He has a favorite Spiderman shirt.  Actually it is an UNDER shirt, but Spidey is his best and favorite.  Pumpkin Pie loves this shirt.  I mean really loves this shirt, like in a pathological way.  We actually had to come up with rules about this Spiderman shirt. Pretty basic stuff.

  1. If you sleep in it when it’s clean, it is okay to wear it the next day.
  2. If you wear it during the day you can’t sleep in it that night.
  3. If you wore it yesterday, you can’t wear it again until it has been washed and pretending it’s been washed doesn’t count.
  4. It is an under shirt so in places where we care what people think at school you can only wear it under another shirt.

Yesterday, Spidey was NOT clean and I was prepared for our usual dance when a lightbulb went on.  I wonder if this is what Dr. Kubler-Ross had in mind…

Stage 1  Shock/Denial:

Pumpkin Pie: Mom, (proudly wearing crumpled, ice cream-stained Spidey shirt he dug out of the dirty laundry) I am wearing my clean Spiderman shirt today.

Me: sorry, kid.  You wore it yesterday, take it off and put it in the dirty laundry, please.

Pumpkin Pie: No I didn’t.

Me: Yup.  You did and I think you know that.

Stage 2 Anger:

Pumpkin Pie: I DID NOT!!!  I DID NOT!!! (Yelling to the heavens, arms outstretched) WRRRAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!

Stage 3 Depression/Detachment:

Stomping up the stairs crying.  Pouts alone in his room for a while then takes off the shirt.

Stage 4 Dialog/Bargaining:

Pumpkin Pie: Mom, you could wash it now and I could wear it in a little bit.  

Me:  It might be ready for bed tonight, how about that?

Stage 5 Acceptance:

Pumpkin Pie:  Okay.  Then I’ll wear it tomorrow!!

Me: Awesome.

Tomorrow, Pumpkin Pie, tomorrow...


So did I mention that the Spiderman Halloween costume arrived in the mail today?  Obviously I’m a glutton for punishment.  And grief.

About Adventures From Cloud 8

I am a stay at home mom who now and again sneaks away to be an in-home family therapist. My husband and I have 3 boys: Sweet Pea (12), Pickles (9) and Pumpkin Pie (4). Oh yeah. We have Doodle Dog, too. You guessed it! He’s a boy. At least he pees outside.
This entry was posted in Grief, Pumpkin Pie, Spiderman. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to 5 Stages of Grief (over your Spiderman shirt)

  1. Pingback: Things My Youngest Child Will Never Have, For Better or Worse. | Adventures From Cloud 8

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s