Mt Misery Part Three-quel

Part 3:  After

Who is this child and where is my Sweet Pea?  This child is surly, whiney, cantankerous and mean.  It is 5:20 pm and he is in his bed crying because everybody is being mean to him and no one is glad he is home and why can’t he watch more tv!?!? In short, he is exhausted.  Probably because they ran the kids like crazy then put them to bed at 11pm every night.  Not a bad strategy for overall mob management, but it left my kid a crumpled mess.  Sleep will come, and after that I am sure he will be able to make complete sentences again instead of sobs perforated by monosyllabic grunts.

Screaming Banshee Elixir. You get your bottle when you leave Mt. Misery.

Day Two Post Re-Entry:

Sweet Pea spent the entire morning rolling on the floor with the dog.  He let his ADHD flag fly and that was fine.  There was very little required of him this morning beyond the usual Cloud 8 no personal injury or property damage rule.  Change in routine brings increased wackiness for any kid so like usual for him, take *any kid* and crank it up a notch.  Or two.

Sweet Pea: What do you mean I have to unpack my dirty clothes before we go to the party when I had 4 hours to do it?!  WRRAAAAAAAHHHHHHH!!  Why is Pumpkin Pie smiling at me when I am mad!!  Get away from me!!  Pumpkin Pie!!!  Get him away from me!!!

Day Three Post Re-Entry:

It is Sweet Pea’s turn to ‘clean’ the bathroom (my standards are pretty low for their work at this point).

Sweet Pea: Why do I have to clean the bathroom when I didn’t even use this bathroom for the whole week?!?!  I am tired so why should he have to do anything at all?! (You can imagine how well that one went over).  I don’t want to practice my trombone/work on my school project/pick up my shoes/dirty laundry/legos!!

After he caught up on his sleep and detoxed from Apple Jacks, he was able to identify his Mt. Misery bests and worsts:

Sweet Pea’s Mt. Misery Bests:

1.  He got to drink coke.  The the end of the last night they had a campfire and soda.  Sweet Pea told me he actually chose Root Beer over Coke because he didn’t want it to keep him up.  This is the kid who takes amphetamines every day, but okay, good choice sweetie.

2.  He got to go to bed at 11:00. I have a very wise girlfriend who says, “Nothing good happens with your kids after 8:00 pm” and I am inclined to agree with her.  As such, our shorties are rounded up and sequestered into encouraged to go to their rooms around 8:30 (7:30 for the baby) and read or whatever until sleepy time.  Husband and I like to employ the Bore Them Into Submission strategy whenever possible.  So staying up late on someone else’s watch?  Knock yourself out, kid.

3.  The food.  I think he sampled the tacos, chicken nuggets

Mom! They had the best cereal at Mt. Misery! Have you ever heard of Apple Jacks? They look just like Cheerios!.

and pizza, but mostly he ate plain pasta, bread and Apple Jacks (He had a SIX bowl binge the last morning, I think he knew he was headed back to the land of Honey Nut Cheerios and Weetabix). There may be some withdrawal issues, but none of it was poisonous and he thought all of it was delicious!

Mt. Misery Worsts:

1.  Having to write a journal. You know, the schoolwork part of the trip.  This is not surprising.

1.  Snoring cabin-mates. He did find it hilariously funny that an actual non-adult would snore.  He also thought it was funny that another kid in his cabin threw stuff at the snorer to try to keep him quiet.  Evidently it didn’t work.  This may actually be a best.

Well, I am not especially wowed by this trip, but I certainly don’t hate it either.  Sweet Pea had fun, but it didn’t change his life or anything.  He and Pickles are close enough in age that I feel obligated to support the Mt. Misery trip at least until Pickles gets a chance to go, too.  My final opinion is similar to my initial opinion:  Mt. Misery:  It sounds WAY worse than it is.  They can use that on the t-shirts next year if they want.

Mt. Misery. Not as bad as it sounds.

About Adventures From Cloud 8

I am a stay at home mom who now and again sneaks away to be an in-home family therapist. My husband and I have 3 boys: Sweet Pea (12), Pickles (9) and Pumpkin Pie (4). Oh yeah. We have Doodle Dog, too. You guessed it! He’s a boy. At least he pees outside.
This entry was posted in ADHD, Funny Parenting Blog, Middle School, Mt. Misery, Sweet Pea. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mt Misery Part Three-quel

  1. Beth says:

    hahaha niceee…but golly…i cannot say i’d readily sign up to go anywhere with a name like that!

  2. Pingback: Life Litter | Adventures From Cloud 8

  3. Pingback: 6th Grade Vacation Destination: Mount Misery Doesn’t that sound fun?! Part 1 | Adventures From Cloud 8

Leave a Reply

