What We Found in Sweet Pea’s Room: A List

I forced under the threat of severe and extended boredom helped Sweet Pea to clean his room before he left for Camp Mamaw.  I’d rather poke myself in the eye with a sharp stick It was not entirely pleasant and there was a lot of crying.  Husband’s issues aside, when we finished we had a rather amusing list of crap findings:

1.  A book that belongs to Sweet Pea’s 5th grade teacher.  Oh yeah, Sweet Pea is going into 7th grade, so we’ve had this book for WAY longer than we were supposed to.  Pickles is going to have this same teacher this year, so we will sneak the books back into the school under the cover of darkness to avoid any bias against book thieving families.

2.  Several books that belong to Sweet Pea’s 6th grade teachers.  This isn’t as bad as #1 because that was just last year.  There are a lot of them, though.  I am going to have to take them back myself,  because if I give the to Sweet pea, they will never, never, ever make it back to his teachers.

This High School junior made her prom dress out of all the gum wrappers we found under Sweet Pea's bed. She looks so pretty!

3.  Gum wrappers from more gum than any human should healthfully chew in one lifetime.  I can’t believe the child’s jaw still functions properly.  How does he even have time to do anything other than unwrap gum?

4.  Enough random legos that if you placed them end to end, they would easily reach the moon.  I have imprints from most of them in the bottoms of my feet, which is also awesome.

Amazing what you get from Googling "Frankenpen"!

5.  Parts from 8,000,000 pens and mechanical pencils.  Sweet Pea is constantly taking apart pens and mechanical pencils.  When one breaks, he squirrels away all the parts into his desk like a Bic mad scientist creating The Frankenpen.

6.  The missing popsicle stick from our make-your-own-popsicles tray.  Why?!

7.  4,000 rolls of tape.  This is why I keep buying tape!  Where is all the tape?!  Why under Sweet Pea’s bed, of course.  Why didn’t I look there first?

8.  A box of figurines.  Clay creatures; plastic turtles; blue, purple and orange teeny ninjas from the dentist’s office; sculptures made out of twisties from the grocery store (I threw those out); small smiley-faced guys holding various sporting equipment; a Fimo clay snowman and those pom-pom balls with eyeballs, antenna and sticky feet.  Sweet Pea loves things are cute!  Lucky for him he is so cute or I would make him clean his room his durn self.

(Image Credits:  Frankenpen available for purchase here, Gum wrapper dress image belongs to the DesMoines Register and you can see the original interesting article here.)

About Adventures From Cloud 8

I am a stay at home mom who now and again sneaks away to be an in-home family therapist. My husband and I have 3 boys: Sweet Pea (12), Pickles (9) and Pumpkin Pie (4). Oh yeah. We have Doodle Dog, too. You guessed it! He’s a boy. At least he pees outside.
This entry was posted in ADHD, Funny Parenting Blog, Kids cleaning their rooms, kids won't clean up, Parenting Boys and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment